Wheel – My Pride

Our Indian National Flag also known as the TRICOLOUR OF INDIA has an added colour which enhances its beauty. The navy blue coloured ashoka chakra in the centre of flag – the wheel which is the pride of every Indian.

 The Ashoka Chakra is a depiction of the dharmachakra represented with 24 spokes. It is so called because it appears on a number of edicts of Ashoka, one of which is the Lion Capital of Ashoka. Ashoka Chakra today is at the centre of the Flag of India (adopted on 22 July 1947), in a navy blue colour on a white background, replacing the symbol of charkha (spinning wheel ) of the pre-independence versions of the flag.

It is a 24 spoke wheel, in my childhood my parents would explain me, which is true to some extent, that it is to symbolize that we Indians work tirelessly for 24 hours.

In the puranas it is said that 24 spokes, that is 12 lines in reverse, represents the LIFE. The 24 spokes according to Hindu religion means:


2. Courage

3. Patience

4. Peacefulness

5. Magnanimity (the virtue of being great of mind and of heart)

6. Goodness

7. Faithfulness

8. Gentleness

9. Selflessness

10. Self-Control

11. Self Sacrifice

12. Truthfulness

13. Righteousness

14. Justice

15. Mercy

16. Gracefulness

17. Humility

18. Empathy

19. Sympathy

20.Spiritual Knowledge

21. Moral Values

22. Spiritual Wisdom

23. The Fear of God

24. Faith or Belief or Hope

The Ashoka Chakra signifies the law of dharma. Truth or satya and dharma or virtue are the principle for those who work under this flag. The Wheel represents motion. It is the continuity.

The Wheel is the matter of pride for the people who abide by the values and principles represented by it.


Author: dharajeshsampat9798

Well, I always consider myself as a learner.

One thought on “Wheel – My Pride”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s